Home Features Taking On The World

Taking On The World

In 2017, the WHITE FERNS and BLACKCAPS will be taking on the world once again in the Women’s Cricket World Cup and Champions Trophy respectively.

In the weeks leading in to both these tournaments, we’ll be presenting the story of the contests through the years, highlighting the involvement and fortunes of our national teams.

Check back every week as we add another chapter to the history.

WHITE FERNS’ World Cup Record

Australia, England, and New Zealand are the only teams to have featured at every Women's Cricket World Cup which puts them streets ahead in...

2002 ICC Champions Trophy

2002 saw the third edition of the ICC Champions Trophy – the first to be played under that name.  The tournament structure had changed...
1997 women's cricket world cup

The 1997 Women’s Cricket World Cup

During the 1993 Women’s Cricket World Cup in England, the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC) held a meeting at which India put forward their...

1998 ICC Champions Trophy

  The ICC Champions Trophy has been competed for since 1998, although it hasn’t always gone by that name. In its inaugural 1998 tournament it...
2006 icc champions trophy

2006 ICC Champions Trophy

In 2006, the Champions Trophy took place in India for the first time after the 2002 edition of the tournament had been moved to...
1993 Womens Cricket World Cup

The 1993 Women’s Cricket World Cup

After a five-year gap, the Women’s Cricket World Cup was again contested in 1993, returning to England where the tournament began 20 years earlier. As...