Home Features Taking On The World

Taking On The World

In 2017, the WHITE FERNS and BLACKCAPS will be taking on the world once again in the Women's Cricket World Cup and Champions Trophy respectively. In the weeks leading in to both these tournaments, we'll be presenting the story of the contests through the years, highlighting the involvement and fortunes of our national teams. Check back every week as we add another chapter to the history.

1973 Women's Cricket World Cup

The 1973 Women’s Cricket World Cup

It was women after all, who staged the first ever Cricket World Cup - an idea born out of a few after-dinner brandies on...
2009 ICC Champions Trophy

2009 ICC Champions Trophy

The sixth instalment of the Champions Trophy should have been played in 2008 as the tournament was intended to be played every two years,...
2000 ICC Champions Trophy

2000 ICC Champions Trophy

  The second ICC Champion’s Trophy, this time under the title of the ICC Knockout Trophy, was played in Kenya. After the massive success of...
1993 Womens Cricket World Cup

The 1993 Women’s Cricket World Cup

After a five-year gap, the Women’s Cricket World Cup was again contested in 1993, returning to England where the tournament began 20 years earlier. As...

2002 ICC Champions Trophy

2002 saw the third edition of the ICC Champions Trophy – the first to be played under that name.  The tournament structure had changed...
2013 ICC Champions Trophy

2013 ICC Champions Trophy

In 2013, England and Wales were the hosts of the Champions Trophy for the second time in the tournament’s history. As it was when...