Home Features Taking On The World

Taking On The World

In 2017, the WHITE FERNS and BLACKCAPS will be taking on the world once again in the Women’s Cricket World Cup and Champions Trophy respectively.

In the weeks leading in to both these tournaments, we’ll be presenting the story of the contests through the years, highlighting the involvement and fortunes of our national teams.

Check back every week as we add another chapter to the history.

blackcaps champions trophy record

BLACKCAPS Champions Trophy Record

Two-time champions India have an impressive tournament record, compiling just seven losses across seven and a half tournaments. Another two-time champion, Australia, would've had a much...
2013 ICC Champions Trophy

2013 ICC Champions Trophy

In 2013, England and Wales were the hosts of the Champions Trophy for the second time in the tournament’s history. As it was when...
2009 ICC Champions Trophy

2009 ICC Champions Trophy

The sixth instalment of the Champions Trophy should have been played in 2008 as the tournament was intended to be played every two years,...
1988 Women's Cricket World Cup

The 1988 Women’s Cricket World Cup

Australia won the 1978 and 1982 Women’s Cricket World Cups and had every right to be confident about completing their hat-trick as the tournament...
2006 icc champions trophy

2006 ICC Champions Trophy

In 2006, the Champions Trophy took place in India for the first time after the 2002 edition of the tournament had been moved to...

2004 ICC Champions Trophy

The 2004 ICC Champions Trophy took place in England during the month of September, when international cricket is traditionally quiet. Again, 12 teams competed...