Home Features Provincial Pride

Provincial Pride

Between the grassroots and international cricket sits the level where provincial passions and loyalty are tried and tested.

Read the stories from the provinces, moments in domestic matches and the players who defined their region’s cricketing fortunes.

plunket shield winners

Plunket Shield Winners

The 2017-18 Plunket Shield competition went in to the final day with Central Districts holding a narrow four-point lead over the Wellington Firebirds. After both...
Hallyburton Johnstone

Hally: Retired Farmer, Full-Time Sports Enthusiast

Not many people realise that the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield is named for the man who donated it for the domestic women’s cricket competition in...
JR Reid

JR Reid Goes Big

In celebrating Michael Papps’ wonderful achievement in making the highest score for Wellington, with his monumental 316* against Auckland, last month, it is timely...
NZ Women's T20 Winners

A Title With No Name: NZ Women’s T20 Winners

In 2016-17, the Otago Sparks broke their duck, winning the NZ Women's T20 competition for the first time since it began in 2007-08. They have...
Blanche Te Rangi

Plenty of Devil; the Blanche Te Rangi story

It’s a striking image: two young women stand with bats and caps in hand, the bank at Whanganui’s Cook’s Gardens rising behind them in...

Historic Hallyburton Johnstone Shield Returns

Eighty-one years after it was first contested, the prestigious Hallyburton Johnstone (HBJ) Shield is being reintroduced by NZC this season, as the prize for...