Home Features Provincial Pride

Provincial Pride

Between the grassroots and international cricket sits the level where provincial passions and loyalty are tried and tested.

Read the stories from the provinces, moments in domestic matches and the players who defined their region’s cricketing fortunes.

Hawke Cup

How Southland Won The Hawke Cup

On July 18th 1910, the New Zealand Cricket Council received a letter from the Auckland Cricket Association offering a shield for cricket competition from...
NZ Women's T20 Winners

A Title With No Name: NZ Women’s T20 Winners

In 2016-17, the Otago Sparks broke their duck, winning the NZ Women's T20 competition for the first time since it began in 2007-08. They have...
Hallyburton Johnstone

Hally: Retired Farmer, Full-Time Sports Enthusiast

Not many people realise that the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield is named for the man who donated it for the domestic women’s cricket competition in...
t20 winners

Super Smashing: T20 Winners

With four titles to their name, Auckland are easily the most dominant side in men's domestic T20 history. They also share the record for...

100 Domestic One Day Games

From 1992 through to 1998, New Zealand's premier women's side was determined through the Pub Charities tournament. Across these competitions, the contested format varied...
JR Reid

JR Reid Goes Big

In celebrating Michael Papps’ wonderful achievement in making the highest score for Wellington, with his monumental 316* against Auckland, last month, it is timely...