The One-Day International between the BLACKCAPS and Pakistan at the Basin Reserve will be the 100th encounter scheduled between the sides since February 1973, with Pakistan winning 53, New Zealand 42, one game being tied and three games abandoned. New Zealand has won 26 and Pakistan 15 of the 45 matches played in New Zealand. 

Here are summaries of some of the more notable ODIs played in New Zealand.


11 February 1973 – Lancaster Park Christchurch

New Zealand and Pakistan became the first teams after Australia and England to play an official One Day International when they met between the second and third Tests of their 1973 series. The game was played over 40 eight-ball overs, with New Zealand batting first and being dismissed for 187 in 38.3 overs. Mark Burgess top-scored with 47 from 68 balls, while wicket-keeper Ken Wadsworth made 30 from 48 balls and opener Peter Coman 24 from 58. The best of Pakistan’s bowlers was tall fast-medium right-armer, Sarfraz Nawaz, who took 4-46.

In reply, Pakistan reached 93-4, but fell away to be 145-9. Sarfraz and Asif Masood then put on 20 for the tenth wicket in gloomy conditions before Sarfraz was run-out to leave the home side winners by 22 runs. Left-handed opener Sadiq Mohammed batted brightly for 37, while Dayle Hadlee took 4-34, and Hedley Howarth and captain Bevan Congdon each took two wickets.

18 & 21 March 1992 – Lancaster Park, Christchurch & Eden Park, Auckland

In the Cricket World Cup held here and in Australia, the two teams met in the final round-robin game with Imran Khan’s side needing to win to make the playoffs. A century to Rameez Raja and four wickets from Wasim Akram saw Pakistan victorious by seven wickets. This meant a fourth-place finish and a rematch against the top-qualifiers, New Zealand, three days later. 

Batting first, New Zealand made 262-7 with captain Martin Crowe hitting 91. He and Ken Rutherford (50) put on 107 for the fourth wicket after New Zealand’s top three all made double figures but failed to capitalise. Crowe injured his hamstring and required a runner, Mark Greatbatch, before eventually being run out amidst confusion between the three New Zealanders on the pitch.

The lasting image of the 1992 World Cup for many New Zealanders after the semi-final defeat. Photo: Andrew Cornaga/Photosport


John Wright took over as captain when New Zealand fielded and Pakistan were 140-4 after 35 overs, needing 123 from the final 15. The, then little-known, 22-year-old Inzamam-ul-Haq, hit 60 from just 37 balls and added 87 for the fifth wicket with a patient Javed Miandad (57*). Moin Khan hit the winning runs in the 49th over, putting Pakistan into the final where they famously defeated England by 22 runs.

13 March 1994 – Eden Park, Auckland

Spearheaded by fast bowlers, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, Pakistan won the first three games in the series played two years later. Batting first in the fourth game they were restricted to 161-9 by tight bowling, with current selector Gavin Larsen returning his best ODI figures of 4-24. Basit Ali top-scored with 37, while openers Saeed Anwar and Aamir Sohail made 25 and 24 respectively. 

In reply, New Zealand lost two early wickets but partnerships of 56 for the third wicket between Jones (21) and captain Ken Rutherford (47); and 57 for the fifth wicket between Chris Cairns (39) and Shane Thomson (24), saw New Zealand to 142-4.  Waqar Younis then produced an almost unplayable spell to reduce the home side to 159-9 in the final over. Richard de Groen scored 2 but was then LBW to Younis and the game ended in a tie.

17 January 2004 –Westpac Stadium, Wellington

After losing all five ODIs in Pakistan at the end of 2003, New Zealand had wrapped up the home series 3-1 against Inzamam-ul-Haq’s team in early 2004, with the fifth game a day-nighter in Wellington. Batting first, the home side made 307-8, with Hamish Marshall making 81 from 104 balls, Craig McMillan a run-a-ball 81, and Chris Cairns 36 from only 21 balls. Pakistani speedster Shoaib Akhtar took 2-46, while fellow quick bowlers Mohammed Sami and Azhar Mahmood also took two wickets. 

The Pakistan reply started shakily and they were 73-4 in the 16th over with Jacob Oram and Kyle Mills having taken two wickets each. Inzamam (67) and Moin Khan (52) then added 98 in 21 overs before all-rounder Abdul Razzaq proceeded to smash 89 from 40 balls with five sixes and nine fours. His innings included 24 runs from one Andre Adams over.

The visitors needed 42 from the last four overs and just 14 from the last two when Razzaq was ninth out – Adams taking the wicket to enact some revenge. Sami and Shabbir Ahmed scrambled a further nine runs before an accurate throw from Scott Styris with three balls left saw Shabbir run out and New Zealand won by four runs.

blackcaps v pakistan
Craig McMillan congratulates Hamish Marshall during 2004’s Wellington ODI. Photo: Andrew Cornaga/Photosport


31 January 2016 – Eden Park, Auckland

The teams’ last series in New Zealand was two years ago, won by the home side 2-0 with the game at Napier washed out. Batting first in the decider, Azhar Ali’s side were all out for 290 in the 47th over after Mohammed Hafeez (76) and Babar Azam (83) put on 134 for the third wicket in 17 overs. For the New Zealand bowlers, Matt Henry took 3-44 and Trent Boult 3-60. 

Captain, Brendon McCullum, was out first ball but Martin Guptill (82) and Kane Williamson (84) added 159 for the second wicket at a run-a-ball. A heavy shower of rain when the BLACKCAPS were 210-5 meant their target was revised to 263 in 43 overs. Corey Anderson (35 from 29 balls) and Luke Ronchi (20 from 21) kept the scoreboard moving before Mitchell Santner hit the winning runs with two balls to spare.