In February 1997, New Zealand began an ODI series against England. While the series carried no more significance than any other hosted on our shores, there was one very small difference to those played before: the players wore numbers on their shirts. For those who are committed to following our team’s fashion choices, the inclusion of numbers also signalled the start of the teal era.

Since then, numbered shirts have become the norm in limited overs cricket around the world. Here we present a list of all the BLACKCAPS shirt numbers we’ve been able to identify from that 1997 series through until today.


1Lee Germon
2Ian Butler
2Bryan Young
3Adam Parore*
3Ross Taylor
3Matt Horne
4Neil Broom
4Craig Spearman
5Chris Harris
6Chris Cairns
7Stephen Fleming
8Lou Vincent
8Dipak Patel
9Nathan Astle
10Craig McMillan
11Daniel Vettori
12Paul Wiseman
12Ewen Thompson
13Craig Cumming
14Daryl Tuffey
15Geoff Allott
15Nathan McCullum
15Mark Priest
15Daniel Vettori*
15Jeff Wilson
16Jamie How
16Andrew Penn
17Mark Gillespie
17Lance Hamilton
17Craig McMillan*
17Brooke Walker
18Trent Boult
18Matt Sinclair
19Peter Ingram
19Simon Doull
19Iain O'Brien**
20Adam Milne
20Dion Nash
21Peter McGlashan
21Matt Henry
22Kane Williamson
22Kerry Walmsley
23Tom Latham
24Jacob Oram
24Carl Bulfin
25Ben Wheeler
25Chris Drum
26Shanan Stewart
26Daryl Tuffey
27Scott Styris
27Shane Bond
28Rob Nicol
28Shayne O'Connor
29Seth Rance
29Glen Sulzberger
30Chris Nevin
30Daniel Flynn
31Martin Guptill
31Tama Canning
32Chris Martin
33James Marshall
33Andrew Ellis
33Dion Nash
34Doug Bracewell
34Hamish Marshall
35Mark Richardson
35Gavin Larsen
36Tarun Nethula
37Kyle Mills
38Richard Jones
38Jacob Oram
38Tim Southee
39Jeetan Patel
39Grant Bradburn
40Lou Vincent
40Aaron Redmond
41Andre Adams
42Brendon McCullum
43Tim Seifert
44Paul Hitchcock
45Michael Mason
46Michael Papps
47BJ Watling
47Craig Cumming
48Tom Latham
48Gareth Hopkins
50Peter Fulton
52Hamish Bennett
54Luke Ronchi
55Andy McKay
56Scott Styris
56Michael Papps
58Luke Woodcock
59Dean Brownlie
60Todd Astle
61Ish Sodhi
64George Worker
66Richard Jones
67Adam Parore
68Scott Kuggeleijn
70James Franklin
71Colin de Grandhomme
72Hamish Rutherford
74Mitchell Santner
75Iain O'Brien
77Jesse Ryder
77Roger Twose
78Corey Anderson
80Mark Chapman
81Mitchell McClenaghan
81Heath Davis
82Colin Munro
83Jimmy Neesham
84Anton Devcich
86Henry Nicholls
87Lockie Ferguson
87Roger Twose
87Hamish Rutherford**
88Grant Elliott
91Simon Doull



  1. The players listed here have all been sighted in photographs or film footage wearing the numbers identified or they have contacted us directly about their shirt number;
  2. This list is just for ODI shirts, some players have worn different numbers in T20s to those worn in ODIs (BJ Watling (26) for example);
  3. Some players feature on the list twice as we have them recorded wearing different numbers – if we are aware they wore a number for a very short time (like Hamish Rutherford who wore 87 on debut after being given the wrong shirt, thanks for the info Hamish!), they are marked with **;
  4. In 1998’s ODI series against Australia some players wore different numbers to those they played in the majority of their careers (ie. Vettori, who always wore 11, wore 15), where identifiable these have been included and marked with an *;
  5. At the 1999 Cricket World Cup (the first tournament where players wore numbered shirts), player numbers were given out with the captain as #1 and other players numbered sequentially in alphabetical order. These numbers have not been recorded here.

If you know the number for someone we’ve missed, or think we’ve got one wrong, please contact us.




Comments are closed.